[PATCH 04/13] clk: core: enforce clk_ops consistency

Viresh Kumar viresh.kumar at st.com
Thu Apr 12 06:17:46 UTC 2012


On 4/12/2012 6:32 AM, Mike Turquette wrote:
> Documentation/clk.txt has some handsome ASCII art outlining which
> clk_ops are mandatory for a given clock, given the capability of the
> hardware.  Enforce those mandates with sanity checks in __clk_init.
> 
> Signed-off-by: Mike Turquette <mturquette at linaro.org>
> Cc: Arnd Bergman <arnd.bergmann at linaro.org>
> Cc: Olof Johansson <olof at lixom.net>
> Cc: Russell King <linux at arm.linux.org.uk>
> Cc: Sascha Hauer <s.hauer at pengutronix.de>
> Cc: Shawn Guo <shawn.guo at freescale.com>
> Cc: Richard Zhao <richard.zhao at linaro.org>
> Cc: Saravana Kannan <skannan at codeaurora.org>
> Cc: Mark Brown <broonie at opensource.wolfsonmicro.com>
> Cc: Andrew Lunn <andrew at lunn.ch>
> Cc: Rajendra Nayak <rnayak at ti.com>
> Cc: Viresh Kumar <viresh.kumar at st.com>
> ---
>  drivers/clk/clk.c |   14 ++++++++++++++
>  1 files changed, 14 insertions(+), 0 deletions(-)
> 
> diff --git a/drivers/clk/clk.c b/drivers/clk/clk.c
> index d83a9e0..9924aec 100644
> --- a/drivers/clk/clk.c
> +++ b/drivers/clk/clk.c
> @@ -1202,6 +1202,20 @@ void __clk_init(struct device *dev, struct clk *clk)
>  	if (__clk_lookup(clk->name))
>  		goto out;
>  
> +	/* check that clk_ops are sane.  See Documentation/clk.txt */
> +	if (clk->ops->set_rate &&
> +			!(clk->ops->round_rate && clk->ops->recalc_rate)) {
> +		pr_warning("%s: %s must implement .round_rate & .recalc_rate\n",
> +				__func__, clk->name);
> +		goto out;
> +	}
> +
> +	if (clk->ops->set_parent && !clk->ops->get_parent) {
> +		pr_warning("%s: %s must implement .get_parent & .set_parent\n",
> +				__func__, clk->name);
> +		goto out;
> +	}
> +
>  	/* throw a WARN if any entries in parent_names are NULL */
>  	for (i = 0; i < clk->num_parents; i++)
>  		WARN(!clk->parent_names[i],

Reviewed-by: Viresh Kumar <viresh.kumar at st.com>

-- 
viresh



More information about the linaro-dev mailing list