[PATCH v5 0/4] common clk framework

Mike Turquette mturquette at linaro.org
Sat Mar 3 08:28:57 UTC 2012


From: Mike Turquette <mturquette at ti.com>

The common clock framework defines a common struct clk as well as an
implementation of the clk api that unifies clock operations on various
platforms and devices.

The net result is consolidation of many different struct clk definitions
and platform-specific clock framework implementations.

I consider this version merge-worthy pending ACKs from the relevant
maintainers; namely Russell, Thomas and the platform folks interested in
porting to this framework.

I would like to thank everyone who participated in the common clk
sessions at Linaro Connect and ELC; the feedback was invaluable.

Also I would like to thank Shawn Guo, Richard Zhao, Saravana Kannan and
Magnus Damm for tirelessly updating their platforms for the last few
revisions of this patch series and providng excellent feedback each
time.

Major changes since v4:
 * rolled in TGLX's comments on overall design.  We now have,
   * proper handling of root clocks and orphan clocks
   * multi-parent clocks are handled in the core
   * struct clk is shielded from struct clk_foo and vice versa
     * this is a return to the previous struct clk_hw design
 * split basic clock types out into separate files
 * split headers up by purpose
   * clk.h remains the driver-level interface
     * declarations for rate change notifiers are the only additions
   * clk-provider.h is primary header for implementing clock operations
   * clk-private.h allows for static initialization of clock data
 * validation and bug fixes
 * rebased onto Linus' v3.3-rc5 tag

Patches can be pulled from:
git://git.linaro.org/people/mturquette/linux.git v3.3-rc5-clkv5

v4 can be found at,
http://article.gmane.org/gmane.linux.linaro.devel/8896/

v3 can be found at,
http://article.gmane.org/gmane.linux.kernel/1218622

Mike Turquette (4):
  Documentation: common clk API
  clk: Kconfig: add entry for HAVE_CLK_PREPARE
  clk: introduce the common clock framework
  clk: basic clock hardware types

 Documentation/clk.txt        |  201 +++++++
 drivers/clk/Kconfig          |   31 +
 drivers/clk/Makefile         |    2 +
 drivers/clk/clk-divider.c    |  199 +++++++
 drivers/clk/clk-fixed-rate.c |   81 +++
 drivers/clk/clk-gate.c       |  121 ++++
 drivers/clk/clk-mux.c        |  114 ++++
 drivers/clk/clk.c            | 1323 ++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
 include/linux/clk-private.h  |  192 ++++++
 include/linux/clk-provider.h |  294 ++++++++++
 include/linux/clk.h          |   68 ++-
 11 files changed, 2621 insertions(+), 5 deletions(-)
 create mode 100644 Documentation/clk.txt
 create mode 100644 drivers/clk/clk-divider.c
 create mode 100644 drivers/clk/clk-fixed-rate.c
 create mode 100644 drivers/clk/clk-gate.c
 create mode 100644 drivers/clk/clk-mux.c
 create mode 100644 drivers/clk/clk.c
 create mode 100644 include/linux/clk-private.h
 create mode 100644 include/linux/clk-provider.h

Cc: Jeremy Kerr <jeremy.kerr at canonical.com>
Cc: Thomas Gleixner <tglx at linutronix.de>
Cc: Arnd Bergman <arnd.bergmann at linaro.org>
Cc: Paul Walmsley <paul at pwsan.com>
Cc: Shawn Guo <shawn.guo at freescale.com>
Cc: Richard Zhao <richard.zhao at linaro.org>
Cc: Saravana Kannan <skannan at codeaurora.org>
Cc: Magnus Damm <magnus.damm at gmail.com>
Cc: Rob Herring <rob.herring at calxeda.com>
Cc: Mark Brown <broonie at opensource.wolfsonmicro.com>
Cc: Linus Walleij <linus.walleij at stericsson.com>
Cc: Stephen Boyd <sboyd at codeaurora.org>
Cc: Amit Kucheria <amit.kucheria at linaro.org>
Cc: Deepak Saxena <dsaxena at linaro.org>
Cc: Grant Likely <grant.likely at secretlab.ca>
Cc: Andrew Lunn <andrew at lunn.ch>

-- 
1.7.5.4




More information about the linaro-dev mailing list