[PATCH v7 2/3] clk: introduce the common clock framework

Saravana Kannan skannan at codeaurora.org
Mon Mar 19 19:13:37 UTC 2012


On 03/19/2012 11:56 AM, Turquette, Mike wrote:
> On Fri, Mar 16, 2012 at 8:28 PM, Saravana Kannan<skannan at codeaurora.org>  wrote:
>> On 03/15/2012 11:11 PM, Mike Turquette wrote:
>>>
>>> The common clock framework defines a common struct clk useful across
>>> most platforms as well as an implementation of the clk api that drivers
>>> can use safely for managing clocks.
>>>
>>> The net result is consolidation of many different struct clk definitions
>>> and platform-specific clock framework implementations.
>>>
>>> This patch introduces the common struct clk, struct clk_ops and an
>>> implementation of the well-known clock api in include/clk/clk.h.
>>> Platforms may define their own hardware-specific clock structure and
>>> their own clock operation callbacks, so long as it wraps an instance of
>>> struct clk_hw.
>>>
>>> See Documentation/clk.txt for more details.
>>>
>>> This patch is based on the work of Jeremy Kerr, which in turn was based
>>> on the work of Ben Herrenschmidt.
>>>
>>> Signed-off-by: Mike Turquette<mturquette at linaro.org>
>>> Signed-off-by: Mike Turquette<mturquette at ti.com>
>>> Reviewed-by: Thomas Gleixner<tglx at linutronix.de>
>>> Tested-by: Andrew Lunn<andrew at lunn.ch>
>>> Reviewed-by: Rob Herring<rob.herring<at>    calxeda.com>
>>> Cc: Russell King<linux at arm.linux.org.uk>
>>> Cc: Jeremy Kerr<jeremy.kerr at canonical.com>
>>> Cc: Arnd Bergman<arnd.bergmann at linaro.org>
>>> Cc: Paul Walmsley<paul at pwsan.com>
>>> Cc: Shawn Guo<shawn.guo at freescale.com>
>>> Cc: Sascha Hauer<s.hauer at pengutronix.de>
>>> Cc: Richard Zhao<richard.zhao at linaro.org>
>>> Cc: Saravana Kannan<skannan at codeaurora.org>
>>> Cc: Magnus Damm<magnus.damm at gmail.com>
>>> Cc: Mark Brown<broonie at opensource.wolfsonmicro.com>
>>> Cc: Linus Walleij<linus.walleij at stericsson.com>
>>> Cc: Stephen Boyd<sboyd at codeaurora.org>
>>> Cc: Amit Kucheria<amit.kucheria at linaro.org>
>>> Cc: Deepak Saxena<dsaxena at linaro.org>
>>> Cc: Grant Likely<grant.likely at secretlab.ca>
>>> ---
>>
>>
>> Mike,
>>
>> Thanks for the patches! Glad to see that it's finally getting in! I sent a
>> request for a minor change as a reply to the v5 series (since it had more
>> context). Can you please take a look at that and let me know if you can send
>> out a v8 or a patch on top of this to do that?
>
> Hi Saravana,

Hi Mike,

> I'm not sending a v8 series since Arnd has taken in v7 for the 3.4 merge window.

Yeah, I later realized it might be better to send patches on top of v7.

> I'm formulating a reply to your v5 queries, but I'm not done looking
> at the implications of the initializer stuff.  Lets keep the technical
> discussion in that thread for now.

I saw some responses from you over the weekend but not to mine. So, I 
assumed you were busy with other stuff and I started working on a patch 
on top of v7. I will send that out if I get around to finishing it 
before you do. Hope that's alright with you.

Based on what I have done so far, to me it just looked like a search and 
replace of clk->name with clk->hw.name and similar changes for the rest 
of the fields. It looks like we might be able to remove 
clk_register_mux, clk_register_divider, etc if we go with this. No stong 
opinion about removing those, but they seemed redundant after the 
suggester refactor.

I think it would be okay to just move those init fields into clk_hw and 
not bother with renaming it to clk_initializer (I would prefer, clk_info 
or clk_common) if it makes the match much less invasive.


Thanks,
Saravana

-- 
Sent by an employee of the Qualcomm Innovation Center, Inc.
The Qualcomm Innovation Center, Inc. is a member of the Code Aurora Forum.



More information about the linaro-dev mailing list